Pensioners for 1911

This book is housed at the Corinth Depot library of the Alcorn County Genealogical Society (ACGS). Copies can be ordered from the ACGS. Typed by Vicki Burress Roach exactly as appears in the original book.

Page 8

Be it remembered that there was begun and held a regular term of the Pension Commissioners, in the Chancery Clerk's office in the Courthouse, in the City of Corinth, Alcorn County, Miss., on the 11th day of September A.D. 1911, when there were present, the following Members and officers, towit: D.F. Hyneman, member from the First District,
R.O. Harris, Member from the Second District,
H.C. Powell, Member from the Third District,
J.W. McAnulty, Member from the Fourth District,
J.S. McElhannon, Member from the Fifth District,
O.M. Hinton, Clerk of the Board,

The Board being duly organized, the following proceedings were had, to-wit:

The Board spent the entire day in reviewing the old list of pensioners and eliminating the dead and removed pensioners from the list, and for the purpose of considering raises, etc, in the old list.

It was found that since the last meeting of this Board there had died the following persons, to-wit: Jas R. Carpenter,
Jim Dillingham,
Alford Goans,
T.H. Grisham,
Mrs. M.P. Lancaster,
Sarah Ragan,
Mrs. M.J. Gibson,

It was found that the following persons had removed from Alcorn County, to-wit: Ely Snow,
A.B. Watts,

The Board then adjourned to meet Tuesday September 12th 1911 at 8 A.M.
(Signed) J.W. McAnulty, Pres.

Pages 9-13

The Board met Tuesday September the 12th at 8 A.M. pursunat to adjournment when there were present all members and officers as on yesterday, and when the following proceedings were had, to-wit:

Ordered by the Board that the following resolution be and the same is hereby addopted, and ordered to be spread on the minutes of this meeting, to-wit:

"We the undersigned members of the Pension Board of Alcorn County, Miss., fully endorce the the resolution of the Webster County Board in their recomendation of a change in the pension laws of the State and recommend to the next Legislature that some action be taken in the matter".
The following new applications wre passed upon, to-wit:
Those allowed:

Eddie Wilson
Sarah Dillingham
Margaret H. Kilpatrick
W.H. Scally
D.M. or D.N. Wicks
J.W. Austin
J.W. Barton

Those Disallowed=F.M. Wilhite=on account of insufficient proof=

The following were declared the legal pensioners for this year:
Anderson Ann W.
Austin J.W.
Baker C.W. (dead)
Baker Sarah A.
Barker W.C. (dead is marked out)
Barton J.W.
Barus W.L.
Bennett Mrs. C.D.
Bobo Rosa Ann
Bonds Dovie
Boone Nancy A.
Boone W.R.
Bowen L.F.
Boyd Mrs. M.C.
Brady Mary R.
Brewer W.A. (dead)
Broadaway Mrs. N.E.
Broadaway Mrs. N.E. (from Tishomingo Co.)
Brooks D.A. (dead)
Browning C.N.
Burcham W.S.
Burns? Mrs. L.E.
Burrow A.H.
Burrow Martha J.
Burus Mrs. L.E.
Busby J.H.
Bynum Luke
Bynum W.M.
Calvary J.C. (moved to Prentiss)
Cameron M.C.
Carter J.B. (dead)
Cheek W.D.
Choate D.
Clay Bettie E.
Clemmons Dorcas L.
Coake R.F.
Coleman S.M.
Cunningham Wm.
Dalton Lizzie
Dalton T.B.
Dancer Narcissa
Deese Jno. P.
Dillingham Sarah
Dilworth Mrs. M.E.
Dobbins C.F.
Driver Tennie
Duncan C.P.
Enoch Mrs. M.B.
Fields Mrs. R.J.
Forsyhe Creasy
Friar Mary A.
Gibbs Mrs. E.D.
Gilton Jas.
Ginn Jackson
Glover Mrs. E.
Grace V.A.
Greenhaw Jas. E.
Gurley Nancy
Guthrie Mary E.
Harper H.J. (dead)
Harris W.P.
Haynie E.D.
Haynie Rachel
Hearn C.C.
Henry Belle
Honnoll P.A.
Hooker A.M.
Hopkins A.J. (moved is marked out)
Hudson L.C.
Huff O.M.
Hyneman B.F.
Jones G.O.
Jones M.E.
Jones Sarah A.
Joslin Mariah
Keith Mary E.
Kennedy W.R.
Kesee J.M.
Killough Esther
Kilpatrick Margaret H.
Kincaid J.R.
Lamberth Julia
Lamberth N.J.
Leatherwood W.V.
Lewis Wm.
Little Calvin
Lowry G.W.
Martin Nannie J.
Mathis Eliza
Mathis J.C.
Mattox Sallie
McKinnon C.A. (dead)
McNeely Martha
McPherson J.H.
Melvin Carrie E.
Mincy J.M.
Mitchell W.H.
Moody M.
Moss Angeline
Murdough Horace
Murrah W.H.
Myres Sam H.
Nash Elizabeth
Nelms Nancy
Page Thos.
Petty Drucilla
Poindexter F.H.
Polk N.E.
Porterfield Jno.
Potts M.F.
Ray F.C.
Reynolds Cleo
Reynolds Melissa J.
Richardson Amanda
Ridings N.S. (transferred to Wayne Co.)
Robison S.T.
Robison Sallie
Rogers B.F. (from Prentiss Co.)
Sanders Cynthia
Savage M.L.
Scally W.H.
Scarberry Joe (dead)
Scott Jarrett
Searcy Mary J.
Simms Tinnie
Smith Amanda
Smith Flora A.
Smith Jno.
Smith Phoebe
Smith W.H.
Steen T.E.
Stephenson Sarah E.
Strickland E.C.
Strickland G.W.
Strickland Julia A.
Studdard R.M.
Suitor M.
Taylor M.J.
Thrasher J.T.
Trimble R.C.
Trimer? C.T.
Vandiford A.T.
Vandiford J.J.
Vandiver E.B.
Voyles E.
Voyles J.N. (moved to La.)
Wade Ellen
Walker Ellen
Walker F.A.
Warren Lizzie
Whitehurst A.E.
Wicks D.N.
Wigginton J.K.
Wilbanks E.W.
Wilbanks J.S.
Williams Ollie (dead)
Wilson Eddie
Wilson J.K. (moved to Texas)
Wood Mahala (moved to Texas)
Yarbrough C.C.

There being no further business the Board adjourned.

Signed by these men: J.W. McAnulty, Pres.
D.J. Hyneman
R.O. Harris
H.C. Powell
J.S. McElhannon

Alcorn County Home
Copyright Notice:
All files on this site are copyrighted by their creator. They may be linked to but may not be reproduced electronically or otherwise without specific permission from the county host and/or the contributor. Although public information is not in and of itself copyrightable, the format in which they are presented, the notes and comments, etc., are. It is however, quite permissible to print or save the files to a personal computer for personal use ONLY.

Copyright - MSGenWeb Team - All Rights Reserved