Pensioners for 1912

This book is housed at the Corinth Depot library of the Alcorn County Genealogical Society (ACGS). Copies can be ordered from the ACGS.

Typed by Vicki Burress Roach exactly as appears in the original book.

Pages 14
September 9th 1912

Be it remembered that the Board of Pension Commissioners of Alcorn County, Mississippi, met Monday September 9th, 1912 at 8 A.M., when there were present the following members, to wit: W.M. Brown, Member from the Second District,
H.C. Powell, member from the Third District,
J.W. McAnulty-Member from the Fourth District,
J.S. McElhannon member from the Fifth District,
D.J. Hyneman member from the First District was absent in person, but present by H.C. Klyce, Proxy.

On motion properly made and carried J.W. McAnulty was elected chairman of the Board.

The Board then proceeded to business, and the following proceeding were had, to-wit: The following new applications were examined and allowed, to-wit: R.B. Shaw a No. 4 Pensioner,
W.J. Voyles-A No. 4 Pensioner,
Lydia A. Carter a No. 6 Pensioner,
Mollie Harper a No. 6 Pensioner,
Manirva Scarberry-No. 6 Pensioner,
Martha Bingham, a No. 6 Pensioner,
Mrs. M.E. Taylor No. 6 Pensioner,
N.J. Wood a No. 6 Pensioner,
Mrs. M.J. Brewer a No. 6 Pensioner,
Mrs. Spicie Barnes a No. 6 Pensioner,
Spicie E. Barnes a No. 6 Pensioner. (She's listed twice?)

The Board then adjourned to meet Tuesday September 10th at 9 A.M. (Signed) J.W. McAnulty, Pres.

Page 15

The Board met Tuesday Sept. 10th 1912, at 9 A.M. pursuant to adjournment when there were present all members and officers as on yesterday, and when the following proceedings were had, to wit:

Came on the consideration of other new applications for pension, when the following were allowed, to-wit: Mrs. Emma Phillips a No. 6 Pensioner,
Mrs. Sarah F. Brooks a No. 6 Pensioner,

The following applications were examined and disallowed, to wit: Phillip J. Jumper
L.B. Thompson
Jim Jones
D.N. Wicks

On examination of the Pension Roll is was found that the following Pensioner have died, to-wit: D.A. Brooks
W.L. Phillips
A.M. Belcher
Ollie Williams
C.A. McKinnon
J.B. Carter
Alfred Goins
Joe Scarberry
H.J. Harper
W.A. Brewer
C.W. Baker

The following had moved away, to-wit: J.K. Wilson moved to Texas
J.C. Calvery moved to Prentiss Co., Mississippi

Following were disallowed:

J.H. Busby, too much property
Margaret H. Kilpatrick, too much property
E.L. Gibbs married since husbands death
A.B. Watts was reinstated

After carefully examining the present Roll the following were declared to constitute the list of Pensioners for Alcorn County, for year 1912, to-wit:

Pages 16-20

Anderson Ann W.
Austin J.W.
Baker Sarah A.
Baptist Bob
Barker W.C.
Barnes Spicie E.
Barns W.L.
Barton J.W.
Barus W.L.
Bennett C.D.
Bingham Martha
Boales E.J.
Bobo Rosa Ann
Bonds Dovie
Boone N.A.
Boone W.R.
Bowen L.F. moved to Tennessee
Boyd M.C.
Brady Mary R. dead
Brewer M.J. dropped
Broadaway N.E.
Brooks Sarah F.
Browning C.N.
Burcham W.S.
Burns L.E.
Burrow A.H.
Burrow Martha J.
Burus L.E.
Bynum Luke dead
Bynum W.M.
Cameron M.C.
Carter Lydia A.
Cheek W.D.
Choate D.
Clay Bettie E.
Clemmons Dorcas L.
Coake R.F.
Coleman S.M. dead
Collier Lizzie Y.?
Cowan C.?
Cunningham Wm.
Dalton Lizzie
Dalton T.B.
Dancer Narcissa dead
Deese Jno. P.
Dillingham Sarah
Dilworth M.E. dead
Dobbins C.F.
Driver Tennie
Duncan C.P.
Enoch M.B.
Fields R.J.
Forsyth Creasy
Friar Mary A.
Gallyean R.E. transferred from Prentiss County August 29, 1913?
Gilton Jas.
Ginn Jackson
Glover E.
Grace V.A.
Greenhaw Jas. E.
Gurley Nancy
Guthrie Mary E.
Harper Mollie
Harris W.P.
Haynie E.D.
Haynie Rachel
Hearn C.C.
Henry Belle
Honnoll P.A.
Hooker A.M.
Hopkins A.J.
Hudson L.C.
Huff O.M.
Hyneman B.F.
Jones G.O.
Jones M.E.
Jones Sarah A.
Joslin Mariah
Keesee J.M.
Keith Mary E.
Kennedy W.R. moved to Arkansas
Killough Esther
Kincaid J.R.
Lamberth Julia
Lamberth N.J.
Langford Robt.
Leatherwood W.V.
Leigh J.J.
Lewis Wm.
Little Calvin
Lowry G.W.
Martin Nannie J.
Mathis Eliza
Mathis J.C.
Mattox Sallie dead
McNiely Martha
McPherson J.H.? dead
Melvin Carrie E.
Miller Cynthia A. transferred from (can't read?)
Mincy J.M.
Mitchell W.H.?
Moody M.
Moss Angeline
Murdough Horrace
Murrah W.H.
Myers S.H.?
Nash Elizabeth
Nelms Nancy
Page Thos.
Parker David
Petty Drucilla
Phillips Emma
Poindexter F.H.
Polk N.E.
Porterfield Jno.
Potts M.F.?
Ray F.C.
Reynolds Cleo
Reynolds M.J.
Richardson Amanda
Richardson H.?M.
Robison S.T.
Robison Sallie
Rogers B.F.
Rogers Nancy
Sanders Cynthia
Savage M.L.
Scally W.H.
Scarberry M.
Scott Jarrett
Searcy M.J.
Shaw B.B.
Simms Tennie
Smith Amanda
Smith Flora
Smith Jno.
Smith Phoebe
Smith W.H.
Steen T.E.
Stephenson S.E.
Strickland E.C.
Strickland G.W.
Strickland Julia
Studdard R.M.
Suitor M. dead
Taylor M.E.
Taylor M.J.
Thompson L.?B.
Thrasher J.T.
Trewier? C.T.
Trimble R.C.
Vandiford A.T.
Vandiford J.J. dead
Vandiver E.B.
Voyles E.
Voyles W.J.
Wade Ellen
Walker Ellen moved away-col.
Walker F.A.
Warren Lizzie
Watts A.B.
Whitehurst A.E.
Wigginton J.K.
Wilbanks E.W.
Wilbanks J.S.
Wilson Eddie
Wood M.
Wood N.J. moved to Texas
Yarbrough J.C.

The Board then adjourned.
J.W. McAnulty, Pres.
H.C. Powell
W.M. Brown
H.C. Klyce
J.S. McElhannon

Alcorn County Home
Copyright Notice:
All files on this site are copyrighted by their creator. They may be linked to but may not be reproduced electronically or otherwise without specific permission from the county host and/or the contributor. Although public information is not in and of itself copyrightable, the format in which they are presented, the notes and comments, etc., are. It is however, quite permissible to print or save the files to a personal computer for personal use ONLY.

Copyright - MSGenWeb Team - All Rights Reserved