Bolivar County Mississippi GenWeb




map.jpg County was formed in 1836 from the Choctaw Cession. Bolivar was named for General Simon Bolivar, a South American patriot.

The county was created February 9, 1836.


The current area is 879 square miles. The county is bounded on the north by Coahoma County, on the south by Washington County,

on the east by Sunflower County, and on the west by the Mississippi River.  

More detailed information.


Bolivar County is now divided into two judicial districts, each having its own county seat.   

Rosedale is the county seat of the west district, and Cleveland is the county seat of the east district.


The first settlers of Bolivar County were planters who found the forty to sixty foot deep Delta soil to be rich and fertile. The land had to first be laboriously cleared of the

evergreen, cane and bamboo, but once cleared, the settlers found rivers, bayous, and lakes filled with edible fish, such as perch, jack, trout, bass,

and big river catfish weighing as much as 200 pounds. Game, such as wild ducks, turkeys, deer, and quail were found in large numbers.

The levee system was first implemented during the 1850's to the 1860's.

The first settlement in Bolivar County was Georgetown, located in the southern part of the county.

Georgetown was a river landing, and was located on a plantation called Timber Lake Place, and belonging to John L. Martin of Kentucky.







Search this site powered by FreeFind




myspace profile counters

Site Last Updated - March 3, 2015


What's New:

***Poplar Grove Methodist Church Cemetery***




African American Genealogy


Bolivar County Archives



Vital and Census Records

Oral Histories


Cities, Towns & Villages

Photo Gallery


Post Offices History



Land Patents

A - LM - Z


Special Projects

Library System

This n That



I Love Bolivar County Facebook Page


Riverside Rising Facebook Page


Mississippi GenWeb Genealogy Group Facebook Page


Bolivar County Message Board Rootsweb



Adjacent Mississippi Counties: Coahoma Washington Sunflower

Adjacent Arkansas Counties: Desha Arkansas Phillips



MSGW.jpg USGW.jpg



Jeff Kemp
State Coordinator

Denise Wells

Assistant State Coordinator

Ann Allen Geoghegan

Assistant State Coordinator




Property of Bolivar County GenWeb. All rights reserved. 2015