Sorted by County Name



Click on thumbnail to see larger image

Calhoun County
Created 1852 from Chickasaw, Lafayette, & Yalobusha Counties
County Seat:  Pittsboro

Original courthouse, completed in 1856. 
This photo was taken in 1896.

 This courthouse was located in what is the present day parking lot. 
After this court house was destroyed by fire on December 22, 1922, 
the county purchased buildings on the south side of the square for courthouse use. 
The WPA added to these structures in the 1930s, additions were made in the 50s, 
and a modern courtroom was added on the west side in 1972. 

Oldest part of the current courthouse that was remodeled with WPA labor. 

Calhoun County Courthouse
P.O. Box 8, Courthouse
Pittsboro, MS 38951

Circuit Clerk: (662) 412-3101

Calhoun County Chancery Clerk's office

County Population 2000 Census - 15,100

Top photo submitted by Rose Diamond
Lower photos submitted by Jackie Rhodes

Carroll County
Created 1833 with the Choctaw Cession
Parent of Grenada (1870), Leflore (1871), & Montgomery (1871) Counties
County Seat:  Carrollton


District 2 Courthouse - Located at Vaiden. Built in 1989. Taken Nov 21, 2006

Carroll County Courthouse
P.O. Box 60
Carrollton, MS 38917-0060

 Carroll County Clerk
Lexington St.
Carrollton, MS 38917-0291
(601) 237-9274

Carroll County Chancery Clerk
P. O. Box 60
Carrollton, Mississippi 38917
Phone: (662) 237-9274

County Population 2000 Census - 10,100

Photos submitted by Jackie Rhodes (main courthouse) and Jimmy Emerson (district 2).

Chickasaw County
Created 1836 from the Chickasaw Cession of 1830
Parent of Calhoun (1852), Clay (1871), & Webster (1874) Counties
County Seat:  Houston


Chickasaw County Courthouse
1 Pinson Square, Room 2
Houston, MS 38851
Phone: (601) 456-2331 

Chickasaw County Chancery Clerk
Courthouse Bldg.
101 N.Jefferson
Houston, Mississippi 38851 
Phone: (662) 456-2513

Chickasaw County
Town of Okolona

Entrance via door in the center of the photograph

County Population 2000 Census - 18,200

Photos submitted by Jackie Rhodes

Choctaw County
Created 1833 with the Choctaw Cession
Parent of Grenada (1870), Montgomery (1871), and Webster (1874) Counties
County Seat:  Ackerman


Choctaw County Courthouse
P.O. Box 34
Ackerman, MS 39735
Phone: (601) 285-6245 

Choctaw County Chancery Clerk
P. O. Box 736
Ackerman, Mississippi 39735 
Phone: (662) 285-6329

County Population 2000 Census - 8,800

Photo submitted by Jackie Rhodes

Claiborne County
Created 1802 from Jefferson County
County Seat:  Port Gibson


Claiborne Historical Marker

Claiborne County Courthouse
P.O. Box 549
Port Gibson, MS 39150
Phone: (601) 437-5841 

Claiborne County Chancery Clerk
P.O. Box 449 
Port Gibson, MS., 39150

County Population 2000 Census - 11,300

Top Photo submitted by Ann Allen Geoghegan
Marker Photo submitted by Kenneth and Jackie Rhodes

Clarke County
Created 1833 from the Choctaw Cession of 1830
County Seat:  Quitman

Earlier View


December, 2004

Clarke County Courthouse
P.O. Box 216
Quitman, MS 39355
Phone: (601) 776-3111 

Clarke County Chancery Clerk
P. O. Box 689
Quitman, Mississippi 39355 
Phone: (601) 776-2126

County Population 2000 Census - 17,700

Postcard (top) courtesy of USGenWeb Penny Postcard Collection
Photo (middle) Submitted by Carolyn Switzer
Photo (bottom) Submitted by Kenneth and Jackie Rhodes

Clay County
Created 1871 from Chickasaw, Lowndes, Monroe, & Oktibbeha Counties
County Seat:  West Point

Clay County Chancery Clerk
P. O. Box 815
West Point, Mississippi 39773 
Phone: (662) 494-3124

Clay County Circuit Clerk 
PO Box 364 
West Point, MS 39773 
Phone:  (662) 494-3384

County Population 2000 Census - 21,500

Photo submitted by Kenneth and Jackie Rhodes

Coahoma County
Created 1836 from the Chickasaw Cession of 1836
Parent of Quitman County (1877)
County Seat:  Clarksdale

Early View


Coahoma County Circuit Clerk
P.O. Box 849
Clarksdale, Mississippi 38614
Phone: 624-3014

Coahoma County Chancery Clerk
P. O. Box 98
Clarksdale, Mississippi 38614 
Phone: (662) 624-3000

County Population 2000 Census - 31,200

Top - Postcard courtesy of USGenWeb Penny Postcard Collection
Bottom - Photo Submitted by Jackie Rhodes

Copiah County
Created 1823 from Hinds County
Parent of Lincoln County (1870)
County Seat:  Hazlehurst

Side Entrance

Front of Courthouse facing street

Copiah County Courthouse
P.O. Box 467
Hazlehurst, MS 39083
Phone: (601) 894-1241 

Copiah County Chancery Clerk
P. O. Box 507
Hazlehurst, Mississippi 39083
Phone: (601) 894-3021

County Population 2000 Census - 28,600

Top Photo Submitted by Bob Crawford
Bottom Photo Submitted by Kenneth and Jackie Rhodes

Covington County
Created 1819 from Lawrence & Wayne Counties
Parent of Jones (1826) and Jefferson Davis (1906) Counties
County Seat:  Collins

Courthouse Photo on Covington County Chamber site

Covington County Courthouse 
PO Box 1679 
Collins, MS 39428 
(601) 765-4242 

Covington County Chancery Clerk
P. O. Box 1679
Collins, Mississippi 39428 
Phone: (601) 765-6132

County Population 2000 Census - 17,200

Back to Top
Copyright Notice: All files and photographs on this site are copyrighted by their creator and/or contributor, unless otherwise noted. They may be linked to but may not be reproduced on another site without specific permission from The MSGenWeb State Coordinator or the Assistant State Coordinator, and/or their contributor. Although public information is not in and of itself copyrightable, the format in which they are presented, the notes and comments, etc., are. It is however, quite permissible to print or save the files to a personal computer for personal use ONLY. 

Last Update Thursday, 02-Sep-2010 14:40:26 EDT

MSGenWeb Special Projects - footer

Please contact one of the
MSGenWeb Coordinators  regarding questions, suggestions, 
    or comments about this website. 

MSGenWeb Special Projects Coordinator

Content copyright © 1997-Present by MSGenWeb Team, et al where noted. 
Art and design copyright © 1997-present by MSGenWeb Team. 
All rights reserved.