Naturalization Records of Marshall County Given
By Bobby Mitchell
The South Reporter, January 1, 1987

As all students of high school government know, there are two ways to become a citizen of the United States. The first way is by birth and the second one is for one to be naturalized as an American Citizen.

Marshall County was organized in 1836. Between 1836 and 1906 seventy-one men were granted naturalization orders through one of the courts of the county or district of Marshall County. Another thirteen declared that it was their intention to obtain American citizenship through the naturalization process. No women applied for naturalization during the time period 1836-1906, possibly because the fact women were not granted the right to vote at the time precluded any female interest in obtaining citizenship.

Of those who completed naturalization in Marshall County courts, thirty-seven were citizens of Great Britain, eighteen were from Germany, three from Norway or Sweden, one from Denmark, one from Austria, five from Russia, one from Holland, and five gave no country of origin in the official records. The largest number obtained their citizenship in the decade of the 1850s with thirty-two decrees being issued at that time. The second largest number of orders issued was twenty in the decade of the 1870s.

Of the seventy-five who were naturalized in the courts, two were naturalized as citizens of the Confederate States of America. Of those thirteen who declared their intention, but are no listed in the orders of naturalizations granted, one was to become a citizen of the Confederate States of America.

Although there is very little genealogical information in the naturalization orders, there is some valuable information in the Declaration of Intent. For instance in the Declaration of Intent of Ned Hanl(e)y to become a citizen of the Confederate States of America he makes affadavit that he entered the United States at the Port of New Orleans, Louisiana on the 26th of March 1853, that for the most part he had resided in Alabama, Tennessee and Mississippi since that time, and that as of September 24, 1861, he had resided in Mississippi for the previous twelve months. He also renounced any allegiance he might have to "Queen Victoria, the Sovereign of Great Britain of which Kingdom he is now a subject".

Those who received complete naturalizations through Marshall County Courts were:

John Agor

Aug Althoff

Samuel Ballon

Dominick Barrett

John D. Bergland

George T. W. Bowig

Elijah Boddley

James Bowen

John A. Burke

Patrick Burns

Cornelius Callahan

A. G. Carlson

Hugh Cassidy

John Conrey

John Chanboau

Armand Clauss

John DiVino

John Ellis

Lewis Falkenburg

Gustavo P. Fourstack

James Fitzgerald

Patrick Freeman

Hyman Friedman

John Furniss

John Gaffney

Dennis Griffin

Benjamin Hanham

Robert Hastings

Thomas Hebdon

Albert Herr

Joseph Herr

Oscar Hess

Hugh Higgins

Michael Higgins

Harry Jacobson

Maurice Kellehor

Henry Keller

John Kelly

Peter Kelly

Eames Kennedy

Elles Kleine

Burchard Juhl

Isaac Levy

Henry McLaughlin

Patrick McLaughlin

Michael Mee

Alexander Moyer

James Dalziel Miller

Thomas R. Mooney

Valentino Morler

Hyman Myers

Frank O'Noal

S. H. Oppenhoim

G.A. Palm

Solomon G. Rhine

Paul R. Rohrbackor

Robert Roth

Mathew Scomola

Rapheal Schumaker

George D. Terry

Vincent Teufol

William Thomson

Henry B. Whitehead

John Thomas Whitehead.

Those who declared their intention to become citizens were:

Emil Bachman

Richard Boddly

John Boothe

David W. Brydson

Augustus H.L. Carstenson

Samuel Frank

Ned Hanley

Benjamin Hare

Peter Klingell

Jacob Kronter

John McDabb

Isaac Milnor

Samuel Stram

This Page Was Last Updated