Clay County

Click on thumbnail to see larger image

West Point

Inscription on base: 

"C.S.A. Erected 1907" 

Inscription midway up:

"Of the Confederacy
pays tribute to the
Confederate Soldiers
of Clay County
Inscription at top:
1861 Gloria Victis 1865." 

Submitted by Kenneth and Jackie Rhodes

Transcription of Names 

Erected 1927
By Horse-Shoe Robertson Chapter Daughters of the American Revolution in tender memory of Clay County, World War Veterans 

West Point Army Officers

Beckett, C. Tucker
Beckett, R. Capel Jr.
Bradford, Abner h.
Brand, John R.
Brogan, John M.
Clardy, Will J.
Coleson, Robert C.
Deanes, Samel R.
Dinsmore, John R.
Dunlap, James E.
East, Thomas 
Ervin, Edwin A.
Franks, John W.
Hamlin, James E.
Head, Julian
Heard, Stephen w.
Johnson, Herrick L.
Jordan, Ernest B.
Kimbrough, Marmaduke M.
Lloyd, James T.
McWilliams, william K.
Moseley, Thaddeus M. Jr. 
NsElzie B.
Rhodes, Thomas A.
Semmelman, Barney S.
Stanley, Frank J.
Terrell, I. Moorman
Thrower, Tinsley B.
Valentine, John J.
Wells, Grover C 

Navy                                                 Marine
LaRue, Regnold B                             Harrold, Judson N.
Rhodes, Butler Y. 

Clay County Army Officers

Marshall, llie R.
Millsaps, Louis H. 
Russell, Horatio J.
Yarbrough, Allen Jr. 
Graves, William Obed 

Henley, William S. 

Supreme Sacrifice men of West Point and Clay County

Abbott, Henry G.
Ervin, John B.
Green, Lawton B. 
McVey, Robert B.
Neyman, Ernest L.
Sansing, James C. 
Thomas, William A.
Wagner, Richard 

Submitted by Kenneth and Jackie Rhodes


"The following Horse Shoe
Robertson Chapter Daughters
of the American Revolution
wish to go on record as
deeply grateful to the
World War Veterans for
service rendered. 

Mrs. Mary Dinsmore Ivy, Regent
Mrs. V. Fulcher Chandler, Vice-Regent
Mrs. M. McGraw Garner, Secretary
Mrs. A. e. Dinsmore Rose, Treasurer
Mrs. M. Newcomb Schumpert, Historian
Mrs. A. Everhart Miller, Registrar
Mrs. E. Gladney McCrary, Parliamentarian 

Mrs. Pearl D. Bryan
Mrs. A. Thompson Calvert
Mrs. Ida White Carlisle
Mrs. Sophia W. Cottrell
Mrs. A. Calvert Chandler
Miss Mamie Critz
Mrs. M. Watkins Egger
Mrs. Netta Scott Fox
Mrs. Rufie S. Haas
Mrs. M. Emma Horner
Mrs. L. Crockrell Jinkins
Mrs. M. Robertson Joiner
Mrs. M. Bonner Neilson
Mrs. Hattie W. Roberds
Miss Alma E. Shinn
Mrs. A. Garvin Sproles 

Boulder Committee
Mrs. E. B. (Allie E.) Miller
Mrs. L. T. (Ida W.) Carlisle
Mrs. W. H. (Alma E. D.) Rose" 

Submitted by Kenneth and Jackie Rhodes  

Back to Top

Back to Monument Table of Contents


Copyright Notice: All files and photographs on this site are copyrighted by their creator and/or contributor, unless otherwise noted. They may be linked to but may not be reproduced on another site without specific permission from The MSGenWeb State Coordinator or the Assistant State Coordinators, and/or their contributor. Although public information is not in and of itself copyrightable, the format in which they are presented, the notes and comments, etc., are. It is however, quite permissable to print or save the files to a personal computer for personal use ONLY. 
Please contact one of the
MSGenWeb Coordinators  regarding questions, suggestions, 
    or comments about this website. 
Jeff Kemp - State Coordinator
Jackie Rhodes and Denise Wells - Assistant State Coordinators
Content copyright © 1997-present MSGenWeb Team, et al where noted. 
Art and design copyright © 1997-present MSGenWeb Team. 
All rights reserved.