Tishomingo County banner showing old citizen and old courthouse

Courtesy of the Tishomingo County Historical & Genealogical Society
Original files are housed in the John Marshall Stone Research Library
Tishomingo County Archives & History Museum
203 East Quitman Street, Iuka, MS 38852
Phone: 662-423-3500

TCHGS COPYRIGHT NOTICE: In keeping with our policy of providing free information on the Internet, materials may be freely used by non-commercial entities, as long as this message remains on all copied material, AND permission is obtained from the contributor of the file.

These electronic pages may NOT be reproduced in any format for profit or presentation by other organizations. Persons or organizations desiring to use this material for non-commercial purposes, MUST obtain the written consent of the contributor, OR the legal representative of the submitter, and contact the listed Tishomingo County Archives & Historical Society (TCHGS) with proof of this consent.

COUNTY OFFICERS - 1838 and 1839
Transcribed By Cindy Whirley Nelson

S. S. Hogue, sheriff

William Rushing, treasurer

J.D. Moore, ranger

William Cowan, coroner

Thomas Pate, clerk of board

Jeremiah Phillips, surveyor

S.O. Gibbs, assessor and tax collector

Chisley D. Key, probate judge

Board of Police - John C. Carter, president; Wylie Belsher, James Harris, David Ross, Lyddal B. Estes.

Deputy Sheriffs - Mathew Gage, Abner E. Pate, James B. Merchant, John Doan.

Justices of the Peace - Andrew J. Aldridge, Samuel Dancer, Benjamin Bullard, William B. Owens, John Kennedy, Thomas Walker, Terrill B. Phillips, James R. Choat, James W. Tarkington, Samuel C. Jones, David A. Patrick, William Gatlin, John Pruitt, John Burrell, Derosy Carroll, Joseph Alexander.

Constables - Josh Byram, Christian C. Shults, George W. Wilber, Burgess Ijams, William B. Frost, David Bruton, Valsane G. Lathem, Nicholas H. McMillion, Joseph B. Dean, Andrew J. Marshall, Wilson Winn, Samuel Stockton, Kinchen Mathews, Squire Boone, Sherwood M. White, Pinkney Adkins, Moses Bunn, William Burge.


MSGenWeb logo

MSGenWeb Tishomingo Co. Coordinator: Jeff Kemp