## List of Registrars

1935



Courtesy of the Tishomingo County Historical & Genealogical Society Original files are housed in the John Marshall Stone Research Library

Tishomingo County Archives & History Museum

203 East Quitman Street

Iuka, MS 38852
Phone: 662-423-3500

E-mail: tisohomingohistory@yahoo.com
URL: http://www.tishomingohistory.com



TCHGS COPYRIGHT NOTICE: In keeping with our policy of providing free information on the Internet, materials may be freely used by non-commercial entities, as long as this message remains on all copied material, AND permission is obtained from the contributor of the file.

These electronic pages may NOT be reproduced in any format for profit or presentation by other organizations. Persons or organizations desiring to use this material for non-commercial purposes, MUST obtain the written consent of the contributor, OR the legal representative of the submitter, and contact the listed Tishomingo County Archives & Historical Society (TCHGS) with proof of this consent.



## List of Registrars

Located in the 1935 records book for the McPeters Funeral Home of Corinth, Alcorn County, Mississippi, is the following list of local registrars for various counties within the State of Mississippi.

These lists were submitted to the Tishomingo County Historical & Genealogical Society by Helah Wilson and Janice Switcher. They were transcribed by RaNae Smith Vaughn and Cindy Whirley Nelson on April 18, 2007. Note: These entries have been transcribed exactly as written.

County	County Registrar	Deputy Registrar	Address
Alcorn	Dr. R. E. Honnell	Mrs. R. E. Honnell	Corinth
Benton	L. L. Homick	Blair Norton	Ashland
Calhoun	D. L. Vincent	Dr. L. B. Young	Vardaman
Chickasaw *	Mrs. Porter Davis	Mrs. Sara Smith	Okolona
Chickasaw	Mary Ruth Harrington	Mrs. Mary Johnston	Houston
Choctaw	D. H. Quinn	Mrs. D. H. Quinn	Ackerman
Clay	Dr. J. E. Ellis	Ruth White Williams	West Point
Grenada	Dr. T. J. Brown	Doris Carpenter	Grenada
Kemper	H. J. Jackson	Mrs. Homer Jackson	DeKalb
Kemper		*	Elec. Mills
Lafayette	Dr. W. W. Phillips	Dr. E. Bramlett	Oxford
Lee	* Ellen Walker	R. H. Riggin	Tupelo
Lowndes	* Mrs. Anne Shackelford	S. W. Shackelford	Columbus
Monroe ***	Mrs. Mary M. Minn	I. B. Minn	Aberdeen
Monroe	Miss Mamie Jones	Devnar Jones	Amory
Oktibbeha	N. C. McCreight	J. D. Malory	Starkville
Panola ****	Dr. G. N. Wood	Lelia C. Wood	Batesville
Pontotoc	Velma Sudduth	R. P. Donaldson	Pontotoc
Prentiss	* Louella Rogers	C. W. Rogers	Booneville
Tippah	Howell Alvis	Mrs. Howell Alvis	Ripley
Tishomingo	Dr. T. P. Haney	George P. Cutshall	Iuka
Union	J. M. Epting, Jr.	Dortha Kirkland	New Albany
Webster	Dr. W. H. Curry	Mrs. Jim Curry	Eupora
Yalobusha	Dr. R. J. Criss	M. H. Criss	Coffeeville

Anyone desiring list of County Registrars for the following counties may receive same on request:

Adams, Covington, Forrest, Franklin, George, Greene, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Lamar, Lawrence, Marion, Perry, Simpson, Smith, Stone, Walthall, Wayne.

<sup>\*</sup> A deputy is to be used at Electric Mills.

<sup>\*</sup> Ellen Walker's address by day is Health Department, Tupelo, telephone number 655 — By night her address is 504 Main Street, telephone number 947.

<sup>\*</sup> Mrs. Anne Shackelford's address by day is 1424-3rd Avenue North, or First National Bank Bldg. — Night Phone 1109, 1424-3rd Ave. N.

<sup>\*\*</sup> Mrs. Mary Ruth Harrington, Houston, is registrar of the First Judicial District; Mrs. Porter Davis, Okolona, is registrar for the Second Judicial District.

<sup>\*\*\*</sup> Miss Mamie Jones, Amory, is registrar for territory east of Highway 45, north of Fourth District line between Highway 45 and Athens, and north of road from Athens to Greenwood Springs. Aberdeen registrar serves the rest of the County.

<sup>\*\*\*\*</sup> Dr. G. N. Wood is registrar for all of Panola County except Sardis. Dr. J. W. Anderson is registrar of Sardis Precinct.

## Hardin County, Tennessee, Registrars

Civil District #3	Mrs. Buelah Haggard	Olive Hill, Tenn.
Civil District #1		
Civil District #2		
Civil District #4		
Civil District #5	Miss Xie Watson	Savannah, Tenn.
Civil District #6	H. A. Roberts	Counce, Tenn.
Civil District #7	J. M. Plunk	Adamsville, Tenn.
Civil District #8	Lucille Brooks	Morris Chapel, Tenn.
Civil District #9	Maury Paulk	Walnut Grove, Tenn.
Civil District #10		
Civil District #11	Miss Drue Davy	Saltillo, Tenn.