Courtesy of the Tishomingo County Historical & Genealogical Society Original files are housed in the John Marshall Stone Research Library

Tishomingo County Archives & History Museum 203 East Quitman Street Iuka, MS 38852

Phone: 662-423-3500

E-mail: tcarchives@nadata.net

URL: http://www.rootsweb.com/~mstchgs/

TCHGS COPYRIGHT NOTICE: In keeping with our policy of providing free information on the Internet, materials may be freely used by non-commercial entities, as long as this message remains on all copied material, AND permission is obtained from the contributor of the file.

These electronic pages may NOT be reproduced in any format for profit or presentation by other organizations. Persons or organizations desiring to use this material for non-commercial purposes MUST obtain the written consent of the contributor OR the legal representative of the submitter and contact the listed Tishomingo County Archives & Historical Society (TCHGS) with proof of this consent.

Mt. Gilead Church of Christ, 1860 New Temple Road, Golden, Mississippi 38847

Records show that the Mount Gilead Church and school was organized in 1844. The church joined the Bear Creek Association in July 1845. Known members of the church include: Mahalia Odom, Nancy Odom, Samuel Bryson South, Samuel Barnes, Jane Barnes, Lizzey South, James Calvin Seago, Thomas Adams, Mark Seago, Dossy Seago, Ludie Seago, Lula McNutt, Elsie Umfress, Virgie Glenn, Mamie Skinner, Blanche Seago, Mamie Woodley, Lester Skinner, Lilla Adams, Lester Adams, and Alma Adams. The church clerk failed to record names of many members; only members who later joined the congregation were recorded at that time. Mt. Gilead had a school before Tishomingo County was divided. In 1856-1858, records show that the school was held in the church. Samuel Bryson South was the school teacher. Some of the pupils had the following surnames: Seago, McCoy, Flatt, Moore, Woodley, Holder, South, Glenn, Kennedy, Wright, Whitfield, and Barnes.

Pastors of the church were:

Name of Pastor	Date(s)
W. M. Matthews	1845
J.M. Robinson	1846-1851, 1868-1868
D. R. Wimpy	1849-1849
W. A. Reeves	1852-1866, 1869
J. P. Gray	1856-1857, 1869-1871
John Weelock	1866-1867, 1873-1875, 1877-1878
J. H. Kay	1871-1873
Jiddy Skinner	1875-1877, 1880-1888, 1893-1897
John Gibson Kennedy	1880-1884
Joe Gray	1884-1887
C. A. Gilbert	1884-1887, 1903-1903
R. J. Jennings	1893-1894
W. L. Norman	1894-1895, 1898-1903
W. J. Elledge	1904-1906
D. R. Robinson	1907-1909

Name of Pastor	Date(s)
G. W. Gardner	1909-1912
W. W. Whitaker	1912-1920
Douglas McCoy	1920
G. S. Rayburn	1923-1928
C. C. Kerry	1927-1930
C. E. Rushing	1928-1930, 1937-1938
D. R. Raper	1930-1934
J. L. Burcham	1935-1937, 1960-1961
S. Barber	1938
Earnest Byrd	1938-1939
L. H. Brown	1939-1946
W. H. Hopper	1946-1949
T. W. Robinson	1949-1950
Z. T. Rankin	1950-1951
F. M. Holcombe	1951-1953
J. E. McDonald	1953-1955
J. A. Sheppard	1955
K. J. Bobo	1955-1956
T. E. Keanum	1956-1960
Kelvy Tolly	1961-1962
Roy Rushing	1962-1965
Levy Cooper	
Dean Cross	1965-1967;
W. K. Jennings	1968-1970
A. C. Weaver	1971-1972
Garland Jones	1972-1972
Billy Pearson	1973-1977
Nicky Barnett	1977-1978
Earl Lewallen	1978-1981
James Hardin	1981-1986
Dewey Williams	1987-1989
Larry Travis	1989
Mike Alford	1991-1992
Larry Ethridge	1993-1994

Men ordained to preach the gospel include:

Name	Date of Ordination
John Gibson Kennedy	January 1874
J. C. Hughes	May 1874
Taylor Hubbard	May 1874
Levy Gray	July 1877
Josey Glenn	November 1903
J. L. Burcham	December 1932
Vester Hardy	April 1946
Elbert Keanum	November 1949

Submitted by Ruby South Adams.