Courtesy of the Tishomingo County Historical & Genealogical Society Original files are housed in the John Marshall Stone Research Library

Tishomingo County Archives & History Museum 203 East Quitman Street Iuka, MS 38852

Phone: 662-423-3500

E-mail: tcarchives@nadata.net

URL: http://www.rootsweb.com/~mstchgs/

TCHGS COPYRIGHT NOTICE: In keeping with our policy of providing free information on the Internet, materials may be freely used by non-commercial entities, as long as this message remains on all copied material, AND permission is obtained from the contributor of the file.

These electronic pages may NOT be reproduced in any format for profit or presentation by other organizations. Persons or organizations desiring to use this material for non-commercial purposes MUST obtain the written consent of the contributor OR the legal representative of the submitter and contact the listed Tishomingo County Archives & Historical Society (TCHGS) with proof of this consent.

Unity Baptist Church, 43 County Road 247, Iuka, Mississippi 38852

Directions: Near golf course

The Unity Baptist Church was founded August 4, 1963. There were 22 charter members, and Clyde Vinson was the first pastor. A revival was promptly held under a brush harbor and 11 more individuals joined the church that week. When the weather became too cold to hold outdoor services, the church group met in Lewis and Lois Johnson's home. Max and Francis Weaver also opened their home for church services until the church facility was built. The church holds its annual homecoming service on the first Sunday in August.

Pastors that have served the church throughout the years are as follows:

Pastor	Date
Clyde Vinson	4 Aug 1963 to 30 Dec 1965
Tate Presley	23 Jan 1966 to 29 May 1968
Dean Tims	14 Jul 1968 to 14 Aug 1969
Talmadge White	7 Sept 1969 to 15 Oct 1970
Hansel Russell	12 Mar 1971 to 15 Mar 1974
Raymond White	17 Aug 1975 to 20 Apr 1979
Freda Wilson	10 Jun 1979 to 9 May 1982
Talmadge White	23 May 1982 to 12 Jul 1982
T. E. Davis	21 Jan 1982 to 13 Oct 1983
W. C. Gann	26 Jun 1983 to 15 Nov 1983
Troy Harrison	1 Jan 1984 to 20 Jul 1986
E. P. Baldwin	16 Nov 1986 to 18 Jan 1989
Earl Martin	30 Apr 1989 to 4 Nov 1991
Harold Holley (deceased 17 Mar 2002)	24 Nov 1991 to 17 Mar 2002
Randy Harrell	26 May 2002 to 30 Dec 2002
Jesse Massey	8 Feb 2004 to present

Charter members of the church congregation were:

Name	Status
Patsy Cresler	Moved letter
Stanley Holloway	Moved letter
James Jackson	Deceased
Quinnie Jackson	Deceased
Kennith Johnson	Moved letter
Larry Wayne Johnson	Deceased
Sammy Johnson	Deceased
Deborah (Debbie) Martin Smith	
Earl Martin	Moved letter
Faye Martin	Moved letter
Randall Martin	
Donnie Nix	Moved letter
Barbra Wadkins	Moved letter
J. W. Riley	Deceased
Clyde Vinson	Moved letter
Diane Vinson	Moved letter
Flora Edna Vinson	Moved letter
Milford Wadkins	Deceased
Francis Weaver	Moved letter
Lynn Weaver	Moved letter
Max Weaver	Moved letter
Laura Kate Cutshall	Moved letter