Lamar County, Mississippi Genealogy and History


Adoptable County Coordinator

Jeff Kemp - State Coordinator    
Ann Allen Geoghegan & Denise Wells - Assistant State Coordinators


extracted from

Quarterly Conference Record Book of the Purvis Charge 
Methodist Episcopal Church 
Purvis Methodist Church

Back to Introduction


Quarterly Conference Roll of Members for the year 1894 
Purvis Charge 
Sea Shore District 
Mississippi Conference

H. E. Partridge  Presiding Elder 
C. F. Emery  P. C. Assistant 
C. Evers  L. E. 
J. A. McLeod  S. & T. 
J. T. Carley  S. & T. & Supt. 
W. J. Evans  S. 
A. L. Summer S. 
A. J. Clark  S. 
R. W. Hinton  S. & T. 
G. W. Ellis  S. 
R. L. Ratliff  S. & T. 
J. H. Reed  S. 
James Hand  T. 
H. A. Camp T. 
O. C. Donovan  T. 
John Moore  Supt. & T. 
H. C. Yawn  Supt. 

March 30 (1894):

Protracted meeting at Poplarville closing the same April 10.  Rev. C. H. Ellis of New Iberia, La. did the preaching. The following persons united with the church on profession of faith:

Nathaniel Batson 
Clarince Thornhill 
Buford Moore 
Kate Shivers 
Belle Easterly (on probation) 

(blank space) Batson the infant daughter of Nathaniel and Lucille Batson was baptized. This child has since died.  Mrs. Lucy E. Ratcliff, wife of Bro. R. L. Ratcliff died May 14.

April 19:

Protracted meeting at Purvis.  Rev. G. D. Anders did the preaching. Bro. C. H. Ellis came up and preached until the close the 22nd. The following were received into the church on profession:

Maggie Young 
Dallis Ladner 
Bessie Manar 
Otis Manar 
Calvin Parker 
Mrs. Emily Parker 
Sarah Parker 
W. Owens 
Rosetta Owens 
Elizabeth Owens 
Eddie Middleton 
Thomas Young 
Mr. Q. McLellan 
Mamie McLellan 

The following children were baptized:

Manar, parents Mr. and Mrs. W. D. Manar

Demarius Albertus Bright and Thomas Schyler Bright, parents John and Sarah Bright.

The following members were dismissed by certificate at their request:

Thomas, Martha, Ophelia, Bernelia, and Marvin Dearman from Lumberton to Hattiesburg.

Mrs. E. Love Whyte from Purvis to Saltillo, Mexico

Daniel Scarbrough from Lumberton to Franklinton La.

April 26:

Protracted meeting at Lumberton assisted by Rev C. H. Ellis which closed on the 6th of May.
Lois and George Welch were received on profession and Alphus Batson by letter.


The third Quarterly Conference for the current year, 1894, Purvis Charge, Sea Shore District, Mississippi Conference was held at Poplarville August 27, 1894. H. E. Partridge, P. E. , in the chair. 

After religious services conducted by the P. E. the roll was called and the following members were present: 

C. F. Emiry, P. C. Ratcliff Clark, J. A. McLeod, R. L. Ratliff. R. L. Ratliff was elected secretary Received into the church on profession of faith Mrs. Mary Ella Waycott and baptized John Henry Waycott aged 5 years. C. F. Emory, P. E. (signature) 



Copyright 2003 by Pamela J. Gibbs except where otherwise noted.


The pages posted on this website may not be reproduced in any format for profit or for presentation to the public by any person or organization unless written permission is obtained from the file contributor or the county coordinator. These pages may be printed or saved for personal use so long as this copyright information appears on the copies or pages saved.